Thursday, December 21, 2017

JD Woods, Nate McLaurin Selected AP All-Americans

Press Release by Tyler Price, Assistant Director of Athletics | Communications  Baker University

BALDWIN CITY, Kansas – After stellar 2017 seasons, freshman running back JD Woods and senior defensive back Nate McLaurin have been selected 2017 Associated Press (AP) Second Team NAIA All-Americans.

The selection committee is comprised of a group of media members and Sports Information Directors from across the country.

Woods was named the 2017 Heart of America Athletic Conference Southern Division Player of the Year in just his first season with the Wildcats.

He finished the year third in the NAIA in total scoring with 162 points and broke the Baker single-season record for rushing touchdowns in a season with 25.

He also broke BU’s single-game rushing record with 313 yards against Central Methodist on October 28 on 28 carries and he had four rushing TD’s.

The Lawrence, Kansas product finished the year with 1,618 yards rushing and averaged 6.9 yards per carrying.

McLaurin was not only one of the top defensive backs in the country but one of the top punt returners in the NAIA in 2017.

He finished the season with 265 total punt return yards, which ranked No. 2 in the NAIA. He also had a team-high five interceptions to lead the ‘Cats this season and finished with 49 tackles, ranking fifth on the squad.

The Phoenix, Arizona native also had 21 passes defended and was impressive off the edge with four blocked kicks in 2017.

The Wildcats wrap up the 2017 season ranked No. 9 in the NAIA and is coming off of its third-straight Heart of America Athletic Conference Southern Division championship and has appeared in five of the past six NAIA-FCS Playoffs.

The entire list of 2017 AP NAIA All-Americans  is below:

Quarterback – Tanner Trosin, senior, Southern Oregon.
Running backs – Bubba Jenkins, senior, Morningside; Justin Green, junior, St. Francis, Indiana.
Linemen – Trae Bradburn, senior, Morningside; Justin Hunter, senior, Saint Xavier; Trey Coney, sophomore, Reinhardt; Chris Emter, senior, Carroll College; Xavier Carter, senior, Reinhardt;
Tight end – Trenton Poe-Evans, sophomore, Kansas Wesleyan.
Receivers – Hayden Adams, senior, Dakota Wesleyan; Connor Niles, junior, Morningside.
All-purpose player – Charles Ducksworth, senior, Point.
Kicker – Daniel Martinez, senior, Wayland Baptist.
Linemen – Jamarae Finnie, senior, Langston; Evan Sprayberry, junior, Tabor; Tevin McCoy, junior, Reinhardt; Resean Coleman, sophomore, William Penn.
Linebackers – Caden McDonald, senior, Morningside; Piercen Harnish, junior, St. Francis, Indiana; Thomas Sease, senior, Dickinson State.
Backs – Darius Price, senior, Siena Heights; Tomunci Whitfield, senior, Southwestern, Kansas; Tarence Roby, senior, Concordia, Nebraska; Nate Moore, senior, College of Idaho.
Punter – Derek Brush, senior, Arizona Christian.
Quarterback – Dillon Turner, senior, Dakota Wesleyan.
Running backs – JD Woods, freshman, Baker; Jacob Kalogonis, sophomore, Northwestern, Iowa.
Linemen – Avery Lock, senior, Valley City State; Spencer Baalman, senior, Tabor; Garrett Bader, senior, Benedictine; Zac Lawson, senior, Lindsey Wilson; Darrion McAlister, senior, Marian.
Tight end – J.C. Koerselman, senior, Northwestern, Iowa.
Receivers – Lexus Jackson, senior, St. Francis, Illinois; LaQuvionte Gonzalez, senior, Southeastern, Florida.
All-purpose player – Tahj Willingham, senior, Hastings College.
Kicker – Mario Esparaza, senior Southwester, Kansas.
Linemen – Chris Overton, senior, St. Ambrose; Sean Rogers, junior, Southern Oregon; Josh Evans, senior, Evangel; Jason Lupkes, senior, Morningside.
Linebackers – Michael Arenas, senior, Eastern Oregon; Trent Mueller, junior, Lindsey Wilson; Garrett Updegraft, senior, Kansas Wesleyan.
Backs – Nate McLaurin, junior, Baker; Jay Liggins, junior, Dickinson State; Cole Wiseman, senior, Doane; Tionte McDaniel, sophomore, St. Xavier.
Punter – Drake Higgins, sophomore, Missouri Valley.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Baldwin City Gazette welcomes your comments, as long as they are on topic and remain respectful to others. Please no anonymous comments. Comments containing advertising will be marked as spam, this includes links.