Monday, May 1, 2017

Governor Sam Brownback and Lt. Governor Dr. Jeff Colyer Recognize Kansas Humanitarians of the Year

Press Release

Topeka –  Governor Sam Brownback recognized Jack and Marilyn DeBoer and Dr. Shaker and Kathie Dakhil from Wichita as Humanitarian of the Year Award recipients on April 24, 2017.

“It was my pleasure to honor these humanitarians and outstanding Kansans,” said Governor Brownback. “Their service of both fellow Kansans and those around the world exemplifies the Kansas way.”

“Jack and Marilyn cover all areas of human needs including social, health, financial and physical needs”, said long-time friend Frank Becker, who was among those who nominated the couple.  “I truly believe that Jack and Marilyn are an example to all who support humanitarian needs in Kansas. They have given financially as well as their personal time and talent to the needs of our society.”

Of the Dakhils, friends George and Jocelyn Laham said, “Although there have certainly been many extraordinary gifts that stand out and have even made headlines, it is the commitment to philanthropy at every level and at all times that truly shows the Shakers’ giving spirit.”

The recipients were recognized on the house floor, hosted by Representative Susan Humphries. 

The Kansas Humanitarian Commission, whose members selected this year’s recipients, works to empower Kansas citizens and businesses to serve their communities, meet local and global humanitarian needs, and promote a spirit of service through dialogue, acts, and commerce.  This Commission was started by Dr. Colyer and is made up of community leaders throughout the state.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Baldwin City Gazette welcomes your comments, as long as they are on topic and remain respectful to others. Please no anonymous comments. Comments containing advertising will be marked as spam, this includes links.