Saturday, July 16, 2016

The 2016 GOP Convention Announces Speakers and Delegation Seating Arrangement

CLEVELAND, OH (PRNewswire-USNewswire) - In the final 48 hours before the gavel falls to signify the start of the 2016 Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, the Committee on Arrangements has announced the locations of each delegation on the Convention floor.
All 56 delegations, representing every state and territory, will convene Monday on the floor of the transformed Quicken Loans Arena. For the next four days they will be tasked with completing a wide array of party business like adopting rules and a platform, as well as listening to speeches from prominent Republicans on the values of the party. Finally, the delegates will cast their vote to nominate Donald Trump and Governor Mike Pence as the Republican candidates for President and Vice President.
"Conventions are a time that bring our party together in one space to reaffirm what we believe in and look to what the future will bring," said Convention CEO Jeff Larson. "Regardless of our home state and background, we come together as one body to select our nominee for President of the United States."
The week long convention's theme, "Make America Great Again," will focus on the core themes of Republican Presidential Nominee Donald J. Trump's campaign: national security, immigration, trade and jobs. The speaker list for the convention will include:
  • Pastor Mark Burns                                                    
  • Phil Ruffin                                                              
  • Congressman Ryan Zinke                                      
  • Pat Smith                                                                
  • Mark Geist                                                              
  • John Tiegen                                                            
  • Congressman Michael McCaul                                
  • Sheriff David Clarke                                                
  • Congressman Sean Duffy                                      
  • Darryl Glenn                                                          
  • Senator Tom Cotton                                                  
  • Karen Vaughn                        
  • Governor Mike Huckabee                                      
  • Mayor Rudy Giuliani                                            
  • Melania Trump                                                        
  • Senator Joni Ernst                                              
  • Kathryn Gates-Skipper                          
  • Marcus Luttrell                                        
  • Dana White            
  • Governor Asa Hutchinson  
  • Attorney General Leslie Rutledge  
  • Michael Mukasey
  • Andy Wist        
  • Senator Jeff Sessions      
  • Retired Lt. Gen. Michael Flynn  
  • Alex Smith        
  • Speaker Paul Ryan  
  • Congressman Kevin McCarthy 
  • Kerry Woolard .
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito
  • Dr. Ben Carson
  • Co-Chair Sharon Day
  • Natalie Gulbis
  • Kimberlin Brown
  • Antonio Sabato, Jr.
  • Peter Thiel
  • Eileen Collins
  • Senator Ted Cruz
  • Newt Gingrich
  • Michelle Van Etten
  • Lynne Patton
  • Eric Trump
  • Harold Hamm
  • Congressman Chris Collins
  • Brock Mealer
  • Congresswoman Marsha Blackburn
  • Governor Mary Fallin
  • Darrell Scott
  • Lisa Shin
  • Governor Rick Scott
  • Chairman Reince Priebus
  • Tom Barrack
  • Ivanka Trump
  • Attorney General Pam Bondi
  • Jerry Falwell Jr.
  • Rabbi Haskel Lookstein
  • Chris Cox
  • Senator Mitch McConnell
  • Tiffany Trump
  • Governor Chris Christie
  • Donald J. Trump Jr.
  • Governor Scott Walker
According to TV Guide,  Caitlyn Jenner is also expected to appear.
The convention begins Monday July 18 PBS and National Public Radio are also teaming up to offer live prime-time coverage from 7 P.M. to 10 P.M. locally each night on PBS and NPR. NBC and CBS both plan to air one hour of the convention during the prime time 9 P.M. hour. While CNN plans to cover both conventions 24/7. In addition Twitter and CBSN plan to live stream the coverage online.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Baldwin City Gazette welcomes your comments, as long as they are on topic and remain respectful to others. Please no anonymous comments. Comments containing advertising will be marked as spam, this includes links.